PHP Developer News

Webinar: MySQL & MariaDB Performance Tuning for Dummies



You’re running MySQL or MariaDB as backend database, how do you tune it to make best use of the hardware? How do you optimize the Operating System? How do you best configure MySQL or MariaDB for a specific database workload?

Do these questions sound familiar to you? Maybe you’re having to deal with that type of situation yourself?





A database server needs CPU, memory, disk and network in order to function. Understanding these resources is important for anybody managing a production database. Any resource that is weak or overloaded can become a limiting factor and cause the database server to perform poorly.

In this webinar, we’ll discuss some of the settings that are most often tweaked and which can bring you significant improvement in the performance of your MySQL or MariaDB database. We will also cover some of the variables which are frequently modified even though they should not.

Performance tuning is not easy, especially if you’re not an experienced DBA, but you can go a surprisingly long way with a few basic guidelines.

Date, Time & Registration

Europe/MEA/APAC

Tuesday, June 26th at 09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST (Germany, France, Sweden)

Register Now

North America/LatAm

Tuesday, June 26th at 09:00 Pacific Time (US) / 12:00 Eastern Time (US)

Register Now

Agenda


What to tune and why?
Tuning process
Operating system tuning

Memory
I/O performance


MySQL configuration tuning

Memory
I/O performance


Useful tools
Do’s and do not’s of MySQL tuning
Changes in MySQL 8.0





Speaker


Krzysztof Ksi??ek, Senior Support Engineer at Severalnines, is a MySQL DBA with experience managing complex database environments for companies like Zendesk, Chegg, Pinterest and Flipboard.


This webinar builds upon blog posts by Krzysztof from the ‘Become a MySQL DBA’ series.

We look forward to “seeing” you there!


Tags: 

MySQL
MariaDB
performance tuning
webinar